21: Sometimes it’s not the Booze

After long work day
at work where
nothing seemed to go
my way, I skipped my
apartment, didn't change,
and went straight
to the bar.

I sat down next to only
open seat next
to a pretty broad, but
who was too busy
talking to the bar
tender.

I ordered a Lager
and took a sip, trying
to keep to myself, but
the Cold beer trickled
down my front lip
and splattered on my
shirt.

"I see you got a drinking
problem" she said turning to look at me.

	It happens from
	time to time. Hole
	in my lip, ya see,
	unfortunate fishing
	accident.

"ah, smart Alec. I
like them."

	That's good 'cause otherwise
	it seems you would have a low
	self-esteem.

"Well, mister,I might just have that
low self-esteem, but you'll have
to talk to me some more
to find out." 

Let me tell ya, later that night
after talking and then some, 

a bad day turned into
a fantastic night.

& There's no doubt
when we left our seats
the only thing she loved
more than herself was
me.

and visa-versa

Leave a comment